Jacobs Center for productive Youth Development

The Swiss Survey on Children and Youth (COCON) is an interdisciplinary project, that examines the social conditions, life experiences and psychosocial development of children and adolescents in Switzerland from a life-course perspective.

The study is cross-sectional (i.e., a single survey), as well as longitudinal (i.e., further interviews at periodic intervals). This is particularly important to gain findings regarding the differences between people and the development of individuals.

In addition to the main study, our intensive study includes interviews in smaller groups of people in more depth. This part of the research project gives us precise and detailed insight into the development of children in Switzerland.

The study investigates important transitions over the course of children’s and adolescents’ lives (e.g., school entry, the transition to high school, an apprenticeship or employment), as well as the acquisition of social competencies, values and skills, which are influenced by social interactions with important caregivers and the social context.

Jacobs Center for productive Youth Development

Der Schweizerische Kinder- und Jugendsurvey COCON ist ein interdisziplinär angelegtes Projekt, das die sozialen Bedingungen, Lebenserfahrungen und die psychosoziale Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in der Schweiz aus einer Lebenslaufperspektive untersucht.

Die Studie versteht sich sowohl als Querschnitt- (d.h. einmalige Befragung), als auch als Längsschnittstudie (d.h. weitere Befragungen in periodischen Abständen). Dadurch können Erkenntnisse über die Unterschiede zwischen den Personen aber auch Erkenntnisse über die Entwicklung von Personen gewonnen werden.

Zusätzlich zur Hauptstudie werden in einer Intensivstudie vertiefende Befragungen mit einer kleineren Personengruppe durchgeführt. Dieser Teil des Forschungsprojekts erlaubt es einen präziseren und detaillierteren Einblick in die Entwicklung der Kinder in der Schweiz zu erhalten.

Die Studie erforscht wichtige Übergänge im Lebenslauf von Kindern und Jugendlichen (z.B. Schuleintritt, Oberstufenübertritt, Übergang in die Berufsausbildung und ins Erwerbsleben) sowie die Aneignung sozialer Kompetenzen, Werte und Fertigkeiten, die durch die soziale Interaktion mit wichtigen Bezugspersonen und den sozialen Kontexten beeinflusst werden.